Blood will make the roses grow.

I have an interesting relationship forming between two of the goddesses I work with. Morrigan and Babalon. The Celtic goddess of war, death, sovereignty, and in some cases fertility. And the Thelemic Red Goddess, Mother of Abominations, the Sacred Whore.

Needless to say. the conversations between the both of them is an interesting one to witness.

Some people who are godphones have the equivalent of a 4G smart phone. Mine’s one of those old Nokia bricks from the 90s. It works, but barely, and compared to everyone else’s, it’s rather much a piece of shit. But my godphone works for me and occasionally a god or spirit will yell loud enough that I can tell a friend or family member something they need to hear. But my role, from what I’ve gathered, isn’t to be an oracle. That’s why I’m friends with one, damn near best friends, actually. 

But when Morrigan and Babalon speak, I hear low giggles and screaming and whispered sighs and clicking of nails against tables and just, it sounds like two friends or relatives getting real irritated with each other but then making a fabulous decision over probably too much alcohol. Fireball whiskey for Morrigan, red wine for Babalon. 

This happened yesterday for me.

I have been pondering a curse for a few days now, as I am a curse witch, and this is what I do. My psychopomp duties have sort of rested for now, which is good, because it gives me time to learn more about hedge crossing, necromancy, osteomancy, sin eating, the whole shebang. I was sort of thrown into this duty, with my consistent attachment to death, whether through the numerous near death experiences I’ve had, or the amount of loved ones who have passed near me. There have been a few deaths that have passed me by just recently for people who are friends of friends, but no one I knew well enough to warrant my aid. For the time being, I’m only to aid those I knew. Their spirits are more likely to attach to me, I guess.

Anyhow, due to this wane in my other duties, my curse-witchery and other magics have come full force. Including sex magic. I’ve been trying to harness energy during sex and, for the most part, I’m getting pretty good results in the actual practice. It’s the actual process of manipulating that energy that is tricky. I think I’ve got it down due to Babalon, but a question has always been in the back of my head.

Can that energy be used to curse someone?

I’m hoping to find that out with this new curse, considering part of it will entail making sure that the subject of the curse is no longer found sexually or romantically desirable to any partner she wishes to obtain. So, in that sense, I guess the energy could be a beneficial thing to use in this curse. I’ve never cursed using multiple energies, I mainly just breathe my intent into a mason jar, fill it with vinegar and spices, straight pins, and whatever else seems to fit. I’m a simple curse witch, but it works, and it works damn well.

I had been wondering how to make Morrigan’s urge to destroy this person and Babalon’s desire to torment this same person mesh. At the same time, I looked over to the red rose bush that we planted outside the house, and wondered why it wasn’t growing yet.

In the back of my head, I hear Morrigan and Babalon whisper at the same time, “Blood will make the roses grow.”

On a purely agricultural level, blood meal can be used to aid the growth of plants, the same can be said of bone meal. This knowledge was given to me prior to the buying of that rose bush, so I had always planned on letting a little blood on the roots to see what would happen.  These roses were also bought FOR Babalon, so it has special meaning to me. The herbs I have growing have meanings. Mint for Haides – not for me, I don’t work with Haides, but one of my other best friends does, so I plan on sending her some dried once it’s grown to culling. Cat grass for both Bastet (our cat, not the goddess Ubasti…) and for Freyja (for her chariot-pulling cats.) 

However, I know the gods aren’t giving me herb growing tips. I don’t have any agricultural deities, not really. I have storm gods, war gods, death gods, lust gods, and dream spirits. I don’t really deal with any Green Men, so to speak.

Blood will make the roses grow.

The curse will make the relationship flourish.

Sacrifice will aid in the growth of your desire.

This will be interesting. 

Leave a comment